Say Whaaaaat!

Am doing a happy dance. Me and dancing, my close friends wouldn’t put those two together. Am excited it’s hard to write. Today I received gold wrapped presents. Just like that. So easy, they came in one after the other. Seemed easy because since October 1st I have been pretty much doing the work. The work of praying, persisting and trusting, not necessarily asking God to give me what I desire but His will in every situation. A few things accomplished. I got to totally embrace God in my ‘losses’ & submit to Him. Clung on a few ends but He worked on, and with me to bare it all freely in His care. I trusted, relied on and still loved Him, maybe a little more, even when I didn’t know the outcome of my situations

Remember my miserable day in “faith in action” post, for starters 2 weeks ago I got a call from our agents that our rent review had been extended until next year 2016. That’s the request I had earlier presented and had been denied through the feedback I posted. When I received that email hoping for a positive feedback, I prayed “Lord, please let things be okay irrespective of what I read”. I breathed through the negatives and rested in God’s care with these words “God please provide”. Now we have ample time to get our finances together since our spending will be stretching on the highs of the current six figure.

Last week Thursday, I took the same bus I had left my change on. I spotted a poster next to the door I had memorized “Distance has no effect on true love blah blah blah.” I assessed the bus conductor, wasn’t quite sure if he had been working on the same bus that particular day but sure enough I was going to confront him. As he was doing his rounds collecting fare, I looked around wondering what I would be asking him. I landed on another poster that read “whatever is bothering you now, rest it in God’s care.” Whoa! I said Amen to that. When he got to me I asked him about it and he denied. I did not say another word but made sure I took the bus number plate with me this time. I knew I had planted seeds of disturbance in him (the thoughts – she finally caught up with me, how did she get me after 3 weeks?). After a few phone calls throughout the week with management, I was called in today from the bus service offices. The conductor himself had handed over my change and I had to go get it.

Just as I received it back, I have passed it over as a gift. To bless someone else & tell God it wasn’t really about getting it back but am grateful to see His faithfulness. To appreciate being stripped off dependence on money and seeing beyond my prayers being answered in the affirmative.

On my way back from the office I was informed that our results were out. I had passed like crazy.

Gold-Wrapped-Presents

I learned a few things, the usual ones we are taught in Christian books, fellowships and Sunday sermons. It’s quite different when we have to put them to practice. Patience, persistence and faith. It was quite a practical lesson for the month of October, wonder what September will bring along.

It wasn’t a million dollar check in the gold wrapped boxes. Am excited to grow in faith and dependence on God knowing nothing in this entire world will fulfill me like He does. It’s the joy of passing the tests, dying to self and finally seeing a little new bud of what life in Christ was meant to be.

I was leading bible study on campus today. Prior to that after a lecture, I felt it in my heart to invite my class for the 1 hour study. Am glad I did. If I can sum up the teachings for this year, what stands out is sharing the good news of Jesus Christ. It’s great doing it online, and am being challenged the more to share it in person.

6 thoughts on “Say Whaaaaat!

  1. Sure, His mercies are new every morning. Just what we share over in our GT about being surprised by God. I am happy to have a friend whose bag of surprises in inexhaustible. Living today brings up more joy in our lives. It is as if God is telling us to be content by the NOW that He has provided. About the six figure plus expenses quagmire, He knows the way through it. I am happy that you find joy in depending on HIM. Thank you for encouraging us with your experiences and finding a way to express it so well.
    Bless you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

