Yesterday is Gone!

I spent a couple of hours yesterday scrubbing my front and back balconies. There’s a construction going on nearby and all the red soil is building up outside my doors every single day. Today morning, am right back where I started and there’s little to show of my yesterday’s work. This describes our everyday life. Life is a continuous cycle and when we stop at yesterday we lock out tomorrow. When we rely on yesterday’s work we live no room for growth. We hang on to one hurt and miss out on what could have been if we had moved past it. We forfeit the beauty of life amidst the pain that tags along.

I have been a Christian 20 plus years and appalled at the little I know of God, at how many times I missed the whole point. Without a doubt the last 3 years have brought Him closer than ever. I relied on my parent’s prayers and my Sunday school knowledge of Jesus Christ. For a long time I thought He was still a baby then I came across some verses where He called me child. I started bible study in 2013, every Friday of the week and I realized I was dry. I perhaps only knew John 3: 16 and the rest of the bible verses in bits. I was asked to pray and got lost in my own word search to display my knowledge of God or otherwise lack of it. I know this kind of prayer too well. It comes out of myself influenced by the people around me. I am praying to God but still want to impress others. I end up in self-doubt, shaken and lost. On true prayer my thoughts are inclined to God. Do people really still doubt God is real? Because I truly start to feel a change of environment around me. It’s a high like no other on some occasions, sometimes a sense of peace and calmness that overwhelms and other times faith steps in when I don’t experience anything – I have prayed and it’s in His care. I finish and realize for a moment I wasn’t aware of those around me. Totally lost in His presence.

In my Christian walk what I did yesterday is long gone. The devil is only at the beach sipping champagne if he’s got you or if he is strategizing on how he’s gonna get you. Don’t let him be there too long by being stuck in your past mistake or loss. You will also get him there if you are stuck in yesterday’s glory. He is at war so you need your armor 24/7 Ephesians 6:10-18.

What have I been doing for the last 3 years?

Bible Study – This is a group of church members in our location that meet every Friday. We go from one home to another studying a book at time. We discuss a few questions related to bible verses. We share prayer requests, worship and fellowship together. I look forward to every Friday and being at the feet of Jesus.

IMG_20150821_212639
The bible study team. Check out Nate with His guitar:-).

Family TV – From Joyce Meyer, Pastor Prince, Joel Osteen, Marriage today and other amazing programs. I feed on these like crazy.

Blogs – Pen strokes, Heather Lyndsey, Unveiled wife etc. inspire me. The most amazing reads I have come across online.

Books – When my consulting work ended in December 2014, I wasn’t sure what was next. I knew I wanted to go to school and I was able to do that given the circumstances but I wanted God’s leading and none of my own. We prayed at our growing together fellowship and I did personally. I was reading 3 books at that time and going from campus to campus. I didn’t even know what I wanted to major in. This particular book by Thomas Anderson got me writing my strengths, weaknesses and aspirations. I checked a course online that merged with what I had put down and left for the University of Nairobi to make an application. When we pray and seek God’s council, he brings people and things our way we don’t have to gamble.

IMG_20150904_140307
A book I recommend. It talks of managing who you are and what you have at hand to be all God created you to be.

Lifestyle change – This is the tough one. Heard of you are what you eat? Show me your friends and I will tell you who you are? So cliché but true. We interpret the world from our senses; eyes, nose, skin, ears, tongue. We form a pattern in our brains of how things look, taste, sound, smell and feel from experiences. Our mind is programmed to wake up at the sound of an alarm. I constantly do an action reaction analysis. What signals am I sending to the brain through my eyes? Well packaged entertainment will without a doubt up my dopamine levels and I will seek more of the same to maintain the pleasure. I know days I was stuck in the house from morning until bed time watching KUWTKardashians. I also know the results too well. There was an hour of prayer and bible study then 18 of watching the latest series and I wondered why I never mastered the bible or got breakthroughs in prayer. There are things that certainly won’t get me closer to God. I have gradually learned to let go and substitute them with what will (all I have mentioned above). I have recently let go of yoga because the ‘Om’ gave me chills and there are questions around it that contradict with my Christian walk. It is linked to Hindus many gods contrary to my belief of one sovereign God.

God is still compelling me to let go of other things and everything is a work in progress because what counts is a willing heart. ‘Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness for they will be filled’ Mathew 5:6.

Are you hungry for God? Feed on His word and His world. You will definitely find more.

7 thoughts on “Yesterday is Gone!

  1. Connecting with God makes us experience true worth of our lives and its short stint here on earth. When you have wept in a solitary prayer as you go through what God has done for you… that it is Him who sought you in your lostness, then you come to place where He becomes your ONLY TOWER where you are totally sure that whenever you run to it, you will be safe.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

